Lightbox Example


To access this document you will need to log-in with your Username and Password.

AEGIS Board of Directors and RMAC transitions

Tom Capps and Bill Grigg, two of our long-serving directors, have chosen not to stand for re-election to the AEGIS Board of Directors later this year. Tom was the Chairman and CEO of Dominion Resources when he agreed to serve on the AEGIS Board in 1993. He was appointed to the Board’s Claims Committee in 1994 and he has served continuously since that time. Bill, the former Chairman and CEO of Duke Energy, has served as Vice Chairman of the AEGIS Board of Directors for the past 21 years.  With 28 years of service, he is the longest-serving Director in the Company’s 40-year history. Bill was instrumental in the creation and development of AEGIS London and served as a London Director from 2000 to 2012. In October, Bill will be elected Vice Chairman Emeritus. Our directors play an often unseen but essential role in guiding the business plans and strategies of AEGIS. Tom and Bill have been especially generous in this regard – offering their time and talent whenever we needed them – and we will be forever grateful.

We are pleased to announce that Christopher Johns, President of Pacific Gas and Electric, was elected to the AEGIS Board of Directors at our meeting in July. Chris joined PG&E in 1996 as Vice President and Controller. He was elected Chief Financial Officer in January, 2005 and named President in 2009. Before joining PG&E, he was a partner at KPMG Peat Marwick. In addition to his responsibilities on the Board, Chris will also serve on the Board’s Audit & Finance Committee. We welcome him to the Board and look forward to his contributions.

Three long-serving members are stepping down from the AEGIS RMAC (Risk Management Advisory Committee). Mike Anderson, Director of Hazard Insurance at Xcel Energy, and Gary Meggs, Director of Risk Management at Southern Company, have announced their retirements and they will step down from the RMAC at the same time. Dennis Sacco, Director of Risk Management at New York Power Authority, resigned from the RMAC in April, citing new job responsibilities and requirements that restrict his ability to serve on the RMAC. Mike, Gary and Dennis have contributed in countless ways to the Committee and its task forces over the years and we are very grateful for their service to AEGIS. With their departures, we are pleased to welcome four new members to the RMAC: 

  • David Layne, Senior Treasury and Risk Manager – The Empire District Electric Company
  • Joe Meaney, Vice President, Global Insurance and Risk Engineering – The AES Corporation
  • Cheri Murray, Director, Insurance Risk Management – CenterPoint Energy
  • Wayne Soza, Vice President Compliance and Chief Risk Officer – El Paso Electric Company

We thank each of the new members for volunteering their time and talent, and we look forward to working with them.